BTEC Health and Social Care

Aims and Content

  • The main focus is on four areas of equal importance, which cover the:
  • Development of key skills that prove your ability in health and social care such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health
  • Processes that show ways of working in health and social care, such as designing a plan to improve an individual’s health and wellbeing
  • Attitudes that are considered important in health and social care, including the care values and the opportunity to practise applying them
  • Knowledge of human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.


Course Structure

Core Units:

Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care

  1. Human Lifespan Development - coursework
  2. Health and Social Care Services and Values - coursework
  3. Health and Wellbeing - external exam of 2 hours which includes 10 mark written essays

All three units must be passed in order to pass the course

Learners can achieve a Level 2 Pass, Merit or Distinction within each unit, which are equivalent to GCSE grades 4 and above f Level 2 is not achieved then a Level 1 pass can be obtained.

Opportunities for Progression

BTEC qualifications are recognised by employers and education institutions and provide a good progression route to advanced qualifications, e.g. BTEC Nationals that can be studied at year 12 and 13.



Note - This specification may change


Updated 18/03/2022